Fire Ex.

Fire EX.

Formed in the southern port city of Kaohsiung, Taiwan’s Second City, Fire Ex. has for two straight decades gone from strength to strength, penning one hooky, politically charged anthem after another. Known as much for their social activism as they are for their soaring, anthemic take on the pop punk genre, Fire Ex. band members Sam Yang (vocals, guitar), ORio (guitar), JC(bass) and KG(drums) have since forming in the year 2000 championed causes near and dear to the millennial generation of Taiwanese.

Over the course of five full-length albums, the band has never shied from those themes both personal and political. When the Sunflower Movement kicked off in in March of 2014, Fire Ex. penned what would come to be known as the anthem of the tens of thousands of protesters. That anthem, “Island’s Sunrise,” further cemented Fire Ex.’s already unassailable reputation as a “band of the Taiwanese people.”

Fast forward to 2019 and Fire Ex. is at it again with their latest socio-political power anthem “Stand Up Like a Taiwanese,” taken from their latest album, their fifth, of the same name. 2019 also saw the return of the band’s own personally curated Fireball Fest, a two-day rock, punk and metal extravaganza at Taoyuan International Baseball Stadium.

It’s not many bands that can claim to be at their strongest nearly two decades into their career. But Fire Ex. are one of those few who can pull it off.


  • Let’s Go


  • Standing Here


  • Goodbye You!th




  • Beginning the Second Half


  • Stand Up Like A Taiwanese


  • On fire day 2020 – Fire Next


  • Human Condition


Music Streaming